Change the world

Research @ Mandela

NMMU has identified institutional research areas around which the university will plan its core research, namely:



No Theme Driver
1 Science, Mathematics and Technology Education for Society (SMTE) Prof Andre du Plessis
2 Sustainable Local Economic Development Prof Sandra Perks
3 Cyber Citizenship Prof Johan van Niekerk
4 Manufacturing Technology and Engineering Prof Danie Hattingh
5 Nanoscale Materials Characterization, New Materials and Processes Prof Jan Neethling
6 Strategic Energy Technologies Prof Ernest van Dyk
7 Sustainable Human Settlements Prof Winston Shakantu
8 Coastal Marine and Shallow Water Ecosystems Dr Derek du Preez
9 Humanizing Pedagogies Prof Denise Zinn
10 Democratization, Conflict and Poverty Prof Lyn Snodgrass
11 Biodiversity Conservation and Restoration Prof Graham Kerley
12 Health and Wellbeing Prof Ilse Truter
13 Earth Stewardship Science Prof Maarten de Wit